Federation of Asian Biotech Associations (FABA) is a non-profit society which represents 20 Asian countries with a common interest in promoting human health through advances in Biotechnology. FABA, since its humble beginning in 2004, has achieved a significant landmark in creating a platform for interaction among member countries and discuss the issues of common interest for improving the biotech space including technology transfer, resource sharing, business collaborations, Industry-Academia linkage, cross-border trade and investments, etc. among its member countries.
In order to recognize and honour eminent personalities for their longtime contributions to Biotechnology and Life Sciences sector, FABA instituted the "FABA Special Award" in BioAsia 2010.

Recipient history of the FABA Special Award includes :

  • 2022 - Mr. BP Acharya IAS
    Advisor, Former ICMR-National Animal Resource Facility for Biomedical Research


  • 2021 - Dr. Balram Bhargava
    Former Secretary of Government of India, Department of Health Research, Ministry of Health and Family Welfare and Director General, Indian Council of Medical Research


  • 2019 - Dr. B. S. Bajaj
    Secretary General Emeritus, FABA (Lifetime Achievement Award)


  • 2018 - Prof. Premkumar Reddy
    Founder, Onconova Therapeutics & Director, Experimental Cancer Therapeutics Institute, Mount Sinai School of Medicine


  • 2017 - Dr. Patrick Vallance
    President R&D, GlaxoSmithKline, UK


  • 2015 - Dr. Dennis Gillings
    Executive Chairman, Quintiles Inc., USA
    Dr. Cyrus Poonawala
    Chairman & Managing Director, Serum Institute of India Ltd., India.


  • 2014 - Dr. Mahendra Rao
    Director, Centre for Regenerative Medicine, NIH, USA
    Dr. William D. Dar
    Director General International Crops Research Institute for the Semi-Arid Tropics (ICRISAT), Hyderabad, India


  • 2013 - Dr. Vijay Kumar Datla
    Chairman and Managing Director, Biological E Limited, Hyderabad, India


  • 2012 - Mr. Cyrus P. Mistry
    Chairman, Tata Group of Companies, Mumbai, India
    MedTrack, NY, USA


  • 2011 - Mr. D. S. Brar
    Chairman, GVK BioSciences, Hyderabad, India
    Dr. Roger Williams
    CEO, US Pharmacopeia, USA
    Dr. Anwar Nasim
    Chairman, National Commission on Biotechnology, Pakistan and Founder President of FABA, Pakistan


  • 2010 - Dr. Ajit Shetty
    Corporate Vice President, Worldwide Operations, Johnson & Johnson, New Jersey, USA
    Dr. Manel Balcells
    President, Biocat, Barcelona, Spain